"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants."
Isaac Newton

Luís Bernardino

Luís Bernardino is an Angolan scholar and physician, well known especially for his works on behalf of children’s health. Currently, is the Director of David Bernardino Paediatric Hospital of Luanda. Please find out more here.

Sydney Brenner

Sydney Brenner was a South African Molecular Biologist and the 2002 Nobel laureate in Physiology and Medicine. Sydney Brenner has a remarkable career and you can find his short autobiography here.

Lídia Brito

Lídia Brito is a Mozambican expert in forest management and an internationally recognized scholar in sustainable development. She was Mozambique’s first Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology (2000-2005). Since 2009, Lídia Brito has been the Director of Science Policy and Capacity Building at UNESCO. Please find out more here.

Erney Camargo

Erney Camargo is a Brazilian professor and scientist known internationally for his work in parasitology, particularly in malaria. He was the chairman of the Brazilian National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq). For more information please follow the link.

Fernando Henrique Cardoso

Fernando Henrique Cardoso is a Brazilian sociologist and scholar. He was the President of Brazil from 1995 to 2003. Currently, he is dedicated to many institutions and global causes such as fighting AIDS and poverty. Please find out more here.

António Coutinho

António Coutinho is the most accomplished Portuguese immunologist. He was the director of the Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência from 1998 to 2012 and he created Portugal´s first international PhD Program in 1993. Is also the Chair of The PGCD Advisory Board. More information can be found here.

Harald zur Hausen

Harald zur Hausen is a German scientist, expert in Virology and internationally known for the discovery that Human papillomavirus (HPV) can cause cervical cancer. He received the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. For more information please follow the link


Carlos Lopes

Carlos Lopes is Guinean sociologist and scholar, expert in Development Studies, Strategic Planning and Political Affairs. Since September 2012, he is the Executive Secretary of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa. Please find out more here.

Craig Mello

Craig Mello is an American scientist and an expert in molecular biology. He has received many awards including the Nobel Prize for Physiology and Medicine in 2006. You can find his autobiography here.

Jorge Sampaio

Jorge Sampaio was the President of Portugal between 1996 and 2006. He is currently the United Nations Secretary-General’s High Representative for the Alliance of Civilizations and Special Envoy to Stop Tuberculosis. You can find his biography here.

Emílio Rui Vilar

Emilio Rui Vilar was the president of the Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian (FCG) from 2002 to 2012. He is currently a non executive Trustee of the Board of Directors of FCG and the Chairman of the Board of Auditors of the Banco de Portugal. He has worked in many public and private institutions and you can find more about him here.

Lewis Wolpert

Lewis Wolpert was a British developmental biologist with a long standing interest in the public understanding of science. Born in South Africa and trained as a civil engineer, he became famous for his work in cellular and developmental biology. He now holds the position of Emeritus Professor of Developmental Biology at University College London. You can see more info here.